Dilworth Science Teacher, Reed Math Teacher Named Finalists for Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

Kathryn Fitzpatrick portrait

Kathryn Fitzpatrick

Congratulations to Kathryn Fitzpatrick, a science teacher at Dilworth Middle School, and Katherine “Kellie” Kareck, a math teacher at Reed High School, who have been named as finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching! Established by Congress in 1983, the award program authorizes the president to bestow up to 108 awards each year to math and science teachers from each of the 50 states and four U.S. jurisdictions. The award recognizes teachers who develop and implement a high-quality instructional program that is informed by content knowledge and enhances student learning.

Kathryn Fitzpatrick earned her bachelor’s degree in biology from California State University, Fullerton, and her master’s degree in education from Sierra Nevada College. She began her career with WCSD in 2007 at Procter Hug High School teaching biology, chemistry, and environmental science. She also taught at Galena High School before coming to Dilworth STEM Academy in 2013.


Kellie Kareck portrair

Kellie Kareck

Kellie Kareck earned bachelor’s degrees in both math and English, and earned a master’s degree in math from UNR. She has taught math at Reed High School for 33 years and has also served as advisor for a number of clubs including Academic Olympics and Gamers’ Club. She calls herself a “complete SciFi geek” who has the Death Star, the Enterprise, and the TARDIS on the wall of her classroom.

A national selection committee will review each finalist’s application, and the White House will announce the results of the national selection process next year. Two finalists will be chosen from Nevada (there are a total of six statewide) and those two finalists will receive a paid trip for two to Washington, D.C. to receive their awards. Each national finalist will also receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.